How to sober up drunken buildings


So here’s the original photo. As you can see, the buildings appear somewhat drunk and leaning into one another. The question is, does it really look that bad?

Now here’s the same photo, but I’ve sobered up the buildings with with lens and perspective correction and cropping. It’s still not perfect, but certainly more “real” than the original, no? I also de-saturated it into a black & white. I just felt it worked in b & w better.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to sober up drunken buildings

  1. Jan Smith says:

    I like the black and white better. I guess I need to be correcting some perspective problems. I didn’t even know to look for that. 🙂 My husband is playing the Louise Mandrell Christmas Show at the Opryland Hotel this year and Louise’s music director is a photographer. His name is Rick King and he has an all inclusive company in Pidgeon Forge that does Weddings (photography,cake,flowers,ceremony, reception etc.) He told me about betterphoto.com — they have online classes and the first one I’m going to take is the one about my canon camera. They have professional photographers who critique your work and it’s much cheaper than taking a class at a college. 🙂

    • davecandoit says:

      I think most people don’t bother correcting perspective. In many cases, particularly with architecture, it’s not a bad idea to leave things alone, for creative reasons. When the buildings in an image sort of leans into one another, you get a sense of great height. In this photo it just didn’t “look” right to me so I attempted to correct it. It’s still not perfect, but better. You’ll also find that in correcting perspective you end up having to crop the photo, maybe more than you’d like. In the above photo, for instance, I really didn’t want to lose the bottom of the photo, but I had no choice.

      As for your online classes, I think that’s a terrific idea. Personally, I prefer a classroom setting, because you get to hear questions and answers from others that you might not have considered yourself. And you meet new people with similar interests.

      You might also wish to consider a software editing course. If you’re not using any editing software presently, PhotoShop Elelments is a great basic package — the kid brother to PhotoShop, and much less expensive.

      I think I recall you mentioning you shoot with a Canon XSi, no? If so, you might want to pick up a photography book based on your camera, such as: The Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi/450D Companion (Paperback), by Ben Long. If I’m wrong about your camera, just type your brand/model into Aamazon.com’s search bar and you’ll get a list of books dedicated to your camera.

      You’ll have to keep us posted on your courses. I’d love to hear what you think of them. I’m going to visit that site as well.

      Cheers,
      Dave

Comments are closed.