Heritage Lighting Event @ the St. Lawrence Market District


StLawrence Market-Edit2

St. Lawrence Market Bldg. - Front St. & Jarvis St.

In celebration of the 205th anniversary of the St. Lawrence Market and the 175th anniversary of the City of Toronto, a number of events will be taking place in the St. Lawrence Market district this weekend (Nov 6-8th). One event of particular interest to photographers is the Heritage Lighting Event. Here are the details from the City website:

WHEN: First lighting of the St. Lawrence Market neighbourhood – Friday Nov. 6th, 6:00 PM

WHERE: St. Lawrence Market district, Front St. & Jarvis St.

HOW MUCH: Free

The City of Toronto will launch a new night lighting initiative in St. Lawrence Market neighbourhood to showcase Toronto’s pride in its heritage and historic buildings.

We’re shining a light on the city’s distinctive architecture and some of Toronto’s oldest, beautiful and most photographed buildings. St. Lawrence Market, St. Lawrence Hall, Flatiron building, St. James Cathedral and the south façades along Front Street, south of Berczy Park will be camera ready, day and night.

Join us this evening for the first flip of the switch. As part of the festivities, local historian Bruce Bell will lead a tour to share the stories captured behind the walls of these of these historic Toronto landmarks as you watch the buildings light up before your eyes.

The lighting demonstration is a showcase of what this Heritage Lighting Project will grow to be. While some of the lighting is permanent, some is for the weekend’s events only. Be sure to come to the neighbourhood on Friday or Saturday nights to witness the full effect of the demonstration.

I think it might be a great opportunity to try to capture some interesting night shots of an architectural nature. I’m hopeful there will be enough illumination on the buildings to satisfy the needs of my wee point & shoot sensor. I’m thinking to bring along a tripod to help make the best of it. Wish me luck!

For more information about this and other events around the anniversary, visit the City of Toronto website.

This entry was posted in Photography Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heritage Lighting Event @ the St. Lawrence Market District

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    Thank you for the info, Dave. I’ll come by tomorrow.
    I love the St. Lawrence Market, it’s a fascinating place full of photographic opportunities.
    BTW; Lovely shot you got there… Lots of crisp details… Nice B/W.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thank you Mauro. I just got in from a very long afternoon. I walked the downtown from 3:30 PM until about 9:45 PM. My legs are killing me. Worse, I forgot to wear my walking shoes, so my feet are also barking like dogs. One the plus side, I got lots of photos. Just downloading them now so I really can’t say how they’ll turn out. I’m sure there will be a few keepers in the mix. There were lots of photographers down there too. I spoke to a couple, but to be honest they didn’t seem all that interested in chatting. One guy had a new Panasonic GF1 and he says he really likes it. He also has a Nikon D90, but uses the GF1 mostly for street photography. Anyway, hope you get a chance to get down there and check it out. I’m not sure if it’s on tomorrow night too. I hope so. Have fun.

  2. Mauro Metallo says:

    Well, Dave… It’s Sunday and nice: I’ll take a walk down there with the kids… Thanks for the info.
    Yesterday and the day before I was in Ottawa for work reasons and, once there, I also met some old friends of mine. Among all other things, we visited e local art gallery, but it was a dreadful experience for me, as usual…
    I gave a quick report of how I felt about it in my last post…
    Have a good reading!

Comments are closed.