November’s Frost


And now for something a little different. Here’s a poem I wrote a long time ago. Since it’s an autumn poem I thought I might share it with y’all today.You can read more of my poetry in the right-side columns, if you wish.

FallColours-303EDIT

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOVEMBER’S FROST

A shallow grey sky

holds close to the sea

a lone seagull soars

as sailing boats sail

not far from the shore

where avenues of waves

untouched by the earth

move silent and free

 

Autumn kites fly

from excited young hands

kissed by the wind

that holds their sails true

unfolded like wings

that dance over land

in a sky shallow grey

and a sea lonely blue

 

Hallow’s eve crouches

and the giving of thanks

Summer’s long crumpled

forgotten and dead

like the leaves on the trees

burnt yellow and red

and the season of change

carves pumpkins to life

as the days lose their strength

giving up to the night

 

Spare me a castle

built from the sand

a green leaf to remember

to hold in my hands

and spare me the memory

of broken love lost

for all my heart holds

is a November’s frost

— Dave

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to November’s Frost

  1. Mauro Metallo says:

    I like your poems, Dave. I’m fascinated by things I don’t know how to handle, and I don’t know how to write in verses: I find it unbelievably difficoult, impossible…
    I like your little photo as well, its format suits the lines of your writing. It should have benn “clickable” though: It’s too sweet to remain a simple thumbnail…
    Best,
    Mauro.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thank you, Mauro. I rarely write rhyming poetry, mostly I prefer free verse. I don’t have a lot of control over how something decides to come out, however, so there you go. As for the photo, I purposefully didn’t make it clickable because I plan to post it as a stand-alone photo at a later date.
      Thanks for popping by. I was by your blog today twice but didn’t have time to post a comment. I really thought the photo that went with your “friends” post was quite interesting. Nice work.

  2. Mauro Metallo says:

    Many thanks, Dave.

Comments are closed.