After Hours


DistilleryDistrict-0959EDIT

I’m not sure this photo really works. It’s pretty much all about the lighting, since anything beyond the light is blacked out. Every time I drive by it at night I think it would make a great photo. There’s something isolated about it. The station is surrounded by fields, since behind it is a large overgrown quarry. To get this shot right, I used the fireworks setting on my camera, since that’s the only way I can get it to keep the shutter open long enough to catch light without a flash. A flash would have killed it. I took it on my way home from dropping dad off after thanksgiving dinner. I should probably give the restaurant where we ate a plug, since it’s one of my favourite haunts. It’s the Beacher Cafe, on Queen Street in the heart of the beaches. I’ve been going there for years. They treat me really well. And the food’s great.

This entry was posted in Downtown Toronto, Night Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to After Hours

  1. wildstorm says:

    This is nice. I tend to over-expose the lights.

  2. kseverny says:

    i really like night photography there’s a mood you just can’t catch in the daytime

  3. diane says:

    It’s spooky. As if safety is fragile and occupies the tiniest space, and who knows what it is lurking nearby?

    • davecandoit says:

      I’m reading a great zombie book right now called “Day by Day Armageddon” and this photo makes me think of some of the night scenes in the book. Very spooky.

  4. Jan Smith says:

    I like it a lot.

  5. lynnwiles says:

    Someday I will venture on to night photography. I like this one a lot, it has a lot of atmospheric presence.

    • davecandoit says:

      You should, it’s fun. You’ll need two things: 1. a camera, 2. some night. 🙂 Truth be told, I’m not a night person at all. It’s rare I’m up past 10:00 PM.

  6. Enche Tjin says:

    I think it works. I feel that I am there. u capture the mood well. Cropping upper and lower part might make the image stronger.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks. I considered cropping it, but I think the surrounding darkness sort of adds a sense of the unknown to the shot. If I cropped it out it would be just a closed gas station. Without all that empty darkness, one’s mind might not even consider the location of the gas station and instead focus on the illuminated features without considering the bigger picture. But showing the darkness lets the viewer know that this structure stands alone in the night. I might have even stepped back further, but nearby street lights would have encroached on the shot. Thanks for popping by and for your suggestion.

Comments are closed.