HDR Pickup


HDR_PickupEDIT2

As you might know, I’ve had Photoshop now for a while, but have always been to intimidated (or lazy) to get down to learning how to use it. Well, today I decided to try my hand at High Dynamic Range (HDR) photography. If you’re not familiar with it, well, join the club. Basically, you take three or more photos of the same image, but at different exposures, using the auto bracketing feature on your camera, and then in photo shop you combine all three photos to get one photo with high dynamic range. The end results is you get far more detail in the bright and dark areas of your photo than you would with a single shot. As you can see with the above finished photo and the three originals, you can achieve amazing results. And this is with my little point & shoot camera. Imagine what you could do with a proper DSLR camera. If you haven’t tried it, you should. It’s really not that hard and tons of fun. The downside is you end up with a much larger file size than you started with. The original photo above was about 1.4 megs, while the final product ended up being a tad under 4 megs. Yikes! Expect to see more HDR images, now that I know how to do it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to HDR Pickup

  1. Jan Smith says:

    Ooooohhhh I’m jealous – what a great find….and I like what you did in PhotoShop. I wonder if you can do this with Corel Paint ProX 2?

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks. I’m not really sure, as I’ve no experience with Corel. Open HELP in Corel and type in HDR and see what you get. Or you could do a google search for: How to make an HDR image with Corel ProX2?

  2. Deva says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a rusty car! The photo looks great, though.

  3. A Leibovitz says:

    Great shot! I (and I’m sure a lot of people) would love to see the 4 shots (3 + HDR) lined up side by side to get the full effect. Great idea. Kinda opens up the possibility of some great night shots too eh?

  4. lynnwiles says:

    Okay, I’ve been poo pooing the whole hdr revolution, but I do like the hdr a lot better than the individual shots.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks. I think a lot of the HDR photos floating around the net are over worked and too artificial for my liking. I know my photo here has also been really dialled up, but I think that’s about the limit I’ll ever be interested in taking it. I like my shots to have some semblance of realism to them.

  5. diane says:

    Oh, awesome use of color here! The brick and the rusty red truck. Great subject!

Comments are closed.