Wild for Flowers


BackRoads-172-EDIT

I took this photo of wild flowers from atop the big hill I climbed to take some of my panoramic photos. This was about 2/3rds the way to Port Hope. Hope you like them.

CAMERA PURCHASE UPDATE: So I’ve emailed a wish list to two camera shops here in Toronto. Looks like I’ll have a new camera by the end of the week. I’ve decided to go with the Olympus E-620 with a Zuiko 14-54mm f/2.8-3.5 Mark II lens. The lens is a nice upgrade from the kit lens. But I’m going to stick with the 40-150mm f3.5-5.0 kit lens for the longer shots. I don’t use zoom enough to justify a high-end zoom. Plus, I simply can’t afford it. I’m choosing the E-620 because it’s the smallest DSLR on the market, and it has an articulating LCD display. I can’t tell you how often I’ve wished for an articulating display so I didn’t have to guess what I was shooting and if it was indeed in focus. I’ll let you know when I actually have the new toy.

This entry was posted in Rural and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wild for Flowers

  1. Gail Peck says:

    I came across your blog from another photography blog first off. Secondly I see you used a Panasonic point and shoot for many of your images. I have two Panasonic cameras and a Nikon D60. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself going back to the Panasonic more than you thought you would. The Leica lens on the Panasonic is not only fast but gives a richness that I often don’t see in my Nikon shots. That said–have fun.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks. Funny you should mention that. I was seriously considering a Panasonic LX3 point & shoot. It’s got most of the manual adjustments of a dSLR and one of the largest sensors on the market for a point & shoot. The lens is a super fast f/2.0 Leica, but only has 2.5x zoom. Coming in weeks is the new Panasonic GF1 (micro four thirds format), which should prove to be another great product. It has a very fast 20mm f/1.7 prime lens, which would be fabulous for street photography. Unfortunately, the camera does not have in-body image stabilization, and there are only a couple of lenses available. I think the Olympus E620 is a pretty solid choice when coupled to the excellent Zuiko lens. Zuiko lenses have a reputation for being super sharp across the focal length.

  2. Jan Smith says:

    Like this photo – beautiful and congrats on the new camera. Can’t wait to see the photos you take with it.

    • davecandoit says:

      Thanks. I’m excited about the new camera. I still haven’t heard back from either camera shop with pricing. I emailed them both a shopping list of items yesterday. Maybe tomorrow. Be nice to have it for the weekend.

  3. katha says:

    I think you should have cropped the half flowers on the lower part of the pic-but I’m just a little OC I guess 😉
    Nonetheless, the whole pic is rich and including the protruding ah “hotdog plants” (have no idea what they’re called) in the background is a nice touch.

    Your other pics are nice too, cropping of the praying angel statue gave a very good effect, so was the composition on the lone lamp post.

    Not a photographer by the way, just love browsing photoblogs, takes less effort than reading I guess LOL

Comments are closed.