Grow Little Weed, Grow!


CheryBeach-097-EDIT

I was trying for a shallow depth of field in this photo, but it didn’t turn out that well. A faster lens would have helped. The wee lens on my Panasonic opens to f/2.8, which isn’t bad for what it is. An f/1.8 or f/1.4 lens would have created a really nice effect.

As you may be aware, I’m unemployed, save for a part-time gig editing a magazine. The last thing I should be doing is spending money I don’t have. But I think I’m pretty much at the end of my rope with this point & shoot camera of mine. I want to begin taking night school courses in photography, but the prerequisite is you need a dSLR camera. Neither the courses nor the camera are cheap. To achieve a college certificate in photography I’d have to take nine courses, which over the course of two+ years will cost over $3,000. Then there’s the camera. I’m thinking to settle with a Olympus E-620, which I can get for $869.00 with two lenses. It’s not my first choice but beggars can’t be choosers. My problem is, I’m honestly making myself crazy trying to decide what to do. The whimsical dreamer in me says follow your dreams, do what makes you happy. But the practical/analytical side of me says  that while it’s nice to have and follow your dreams, you need to find work first. Once you have a steady income you can consider the camera. The first of the courses I want to take starts Nov 3rd. If that’s the route I’m going to go, I need to sign up now before the class fills up. I also need to buy the camera now so I have time to learn how to use it before I begin the course. Anyway, not sure why I’m ranting about this, just wanted to get it off my chest.

This entry was posted in Cherry Beach and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grow Little Weed, Grow!

  1. Deva says:

    Aaww.. never give up, right?

  2. davecandoit says:

    It’s all about the attitude.
    😉

  3. ellsea says:

    Love the way this picture complements your rant … your dreams are like the little weed – let them grow!! Good luck with the decision making – I say go for it 🙂

  4. lynnwiles says:

    I love it when a bit of nature pops up in the most non natural spot.
    If you can afford a new camera, go for it, but if you really can’t, I think you are doing a great job with your p&s.

Comments are closed.