Old Photo of Farm


BackRoads-499-EDIT4

Actually, the photos about 24 hours old. The colour version is quite lovely, but I wanted to try something different. I’m not a big fan of sepia, I find the colour too phony, so to speak. So what I do is edit it to sepia, then dial back the saturation and tweak the colours to get the shape I like. I also applied vignetting and used a editing feature that makes the photo look “old.” Even with that I play around until I have something that doesn’t look fake. I think it came out well, bearing in mind I’m just an amateur at this. Hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Rural and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old Photo of Farm

  1. do like it–but the abstract heart is staying in my mind’s eye like no other…mm.

  2. davecandoit says:

    Thanks. I like to mix things up from time to time and try something new. I’ll post the colour version at a later date.

  3. Jan Smith says:

    I like this one because I love old barns and sheds. I’m drawn to them when I’m taking pictures. I have some pictures of some old tobacco barns in North Carolina before they tore them all down. They use ugly looking things that look like semi truck trailers now to dry the tobacco leaves. They tore the old barns down several years ago because the taxes got to high to pay to keep them on their land. That’s just so sad to me. My husband is a Lumbee Indian and his Native American uncles and ancestors were all tobacco farmers.

    • davecandoit says:

      I’m really drawn to old barns and sheds too. That’s really interesting about the old tobacco farms and their barns. There are companies that will come in and tear down your barn for free but they get to keep all the lumber. That old lumber is worth a fortune. You can mill it down and make antique-looking furniture. I have a coffee table made from old barn lumber. I’ve never been to North Carolina, but I hear it’s beautiful. There are so many places I’d love to see. Thanks for popping by.

Comments are closed.